ECDL Standard

ECDL Standard Profile - digital proficiency

For the certificate ECDL Standard you will make 7 modules:

4 Base modules and 3 elective modules from a choice of 5


Elective ECDL Standard modules:

ECDL Presentation, written on dark blue puzzle piece

- Texts, lists, tables, charts
- Images, drawings, hierarchies
- Slide design, slide master, slide layout
- Animation effects for the presentation
- Slides, notes, handouts


Using Databases, written on dark blue puzzle piece

- Understand the structure of a database
- Create tables with fields and field properties
- Use forms to enter data
- Run queries to retrieve information, sort data
- Display and print records


IT Security, written on dark blue puzzle piece

- Understand the threats to data and privacy.
- Protection from malware and hackers
- Safety in networks
- Safety in the Internet and in online communication
- Back-ups of data; permanently deleting data


Online Collaboration, written on dark blue puzzle piece

- Wireless Internet connection, cloud computing
- Online storage, office applications in the web
- Online calendar, online meetings
- Social networks, online learning platforms
- Smart phone, tablet and apps; synchronise data


Image Editing, written on dark blue puzzle piece

- Capture, improve, change a digital image
- Know graphic formats and colour concepts
- Draw, paint on images and insert text
- Use layers, apply effects and filters
- Options for use in the web and for printing

  • You can use the office programmes.
  • You can work faster and more efficiently on the computer.
  • You get an international certificate to prove your qualification.


Preparation for tests:

  • Course at a Test Center (not compulsory)
  • Self-study (choose among the wide range of approved learning materials)
  • MS Windows 10
  • MS Windows 8
  • MS Windows 7
  • MS Office 2016
  • MS Office 2013
  • MS Office 2010
  • MS Office 2007
  • Open Source
  • for ECDL Image Editing:
    Photoshop (as of CS), GIMP, Photoshop Elements

If you want to take a test - contact an autorised ECDL Test Center.

The tests are based on the current ECDL Standard syllabi (syllabus).

Exam time: 45 minutes per module

Test method: 

Automatic testing software (ATS):


Recommended price:

  • 1 Skills Card for Base/Standard (only one registration fee for both): € 66
  • Test (per module): € 34
  • Total: € 304

Price for pupils at school test centers:

  • 1 Skills Card for Base/Standard: € 37
  • Test (per module): € 15
  • Total: € 142